This is your life. Do what you love and do it often.

What is it that you really love to do?  And I mean for ‘a living’, what makes you feel like you are ‘aliving’ your life?   I’m hoping that you’ll receive this at a time when you’re thinking of starting something new and here’s the sign to take that leap!  Go on go for it! I’m also writing this as a form of self promotion as this is what blogging is for!  The theme of this post is ‘do what you love to do’ without needing approval, yet the irony is I have edited this post about a thousand times to satisfy my want of your approval!  I’d prefer to publish things that are as transparent as possible!

this_is_your_life1

So aside from wanting your approval, I have chosen to follow my heart of late.  I am choosing to align with the smallest, humblest and largest stirring inside…. To DANCE and spurn forth from facilitating free form dance (Dancing Freedom), more connection to each other at a time where feelings of separation and loneliness are growing! My innermost desire, like a sunflower seed, has finally blossomed into the bright, shining yellow colours of….well ‘keep it simple and don’t be afraid’.

Sunflower_from_Silesia….Keep it bloody simple!  I love to dance – like a nutter – like a child does – this is what i love to do! I love to help, serve others and bring people together to thrive (not strive!) like this beautiful flower.  Let the thriving begin.  Let the English winter rest in peace – seeds and buds a blooming now!

I’ve discovered that holding Dancing freedom sessions (as the next step to my yoga teaching) means I get to share my passion for music and dance as a, ah-hem….Djay lady! “I wanna be a Djay!!  I have to confess to this notion as I know many friends who have chimed this same phrase as well and then grinned!  Its cringey and also funny because it makes me think of big egos and pumping raves.  Nothing wrong with a bit of ego I realise, but the irony of it, with facilitating conscious dance practices or parties, is that it might slightly get in the way of sharing one’s authentic vibes as a djay!! From the new experience I have of mixing tunes I’m more bothered about being available to the people than I am with than the next great mix – as long as I can share a journey with good music that I love with those that are there, then I’m winning!!  GRIN!

So a question I have, what are you good at naturally?  For me it’s shining my light, being open to talking to strangers in queues, being wild, breaking self conscious norms and dancing freely.  I was a little bit confused about this for a while when the needs of my younger adult self so badly wanted to be centre of attention.  As a child and young lady I felt a bit lost, so I craved recognition and being seen – it was all about me, I was a show off! I streaked in public places, that kind of thing – my wildness was a bit squiffy.  My present day self, through life experience, through the practice of yoga and other healing modalities has allowed me to see myself cooling the gas on ‘show off Sophie’ and turning up the heat on ‘shining my light Sophie’- yes it’s true Sophie – you can shine your light now!  It’s great to have this permission. Thank you California (and years of therapy, yoga and free dancing !!) for giving me this permission. I wish to bring more of your celebratory spirit to the souls of this British land who have just survived winter.  Enough of the NO and the bitter wind on our backs and more to the YES and leaning into warmth – spring summer sun! Please ask yourself, what makes me tick and feel alive?  Celebrate yourself unashamedly!

10341481_10202755598424645_5711880646460978861_n

So with this New Year’s intention ‘do what you love to do’, I got purchasing a sound system and djay equipment. I’m taking small steps to get to know my new toys (sometimes I take take them to bed with me as well as taking for a walk in the countryside!) and getting to know what music stirs me to play. I’m loving exploring the intergalactic realms of music at the touch of a button.  I play music that makes me want to move!  Some examples of artists are: – Parra for Cuva, The Polish Ambassador, Elderbrook, Ludivico Einaudi, Atmos.

IMG_7034
Speakers available to rent – they come with dimples and all!

Hopefully your job is what you love to do and if it’s not, then your gut knows that you’re building up to leaving and doing something you do love to do, right?  I can recommend Erica Sosna for this. http://www.ericasosna.com – She says, You Matter. Don’t Waste Away.  “Being stuck in a career that drains you is not your only option. I’ve helped hundreds of professionals find and begin their ideal career – and I can help you, too. Find and begin your ideal career in less than 40 days.”

You know the track ‘Last night a Djay saved my life’? Well, taking that quite literally, there were a few djays, in my teens and twenties who did save my life!  I had permission in those raving days to ‘Lose myself in the music’ with drug induced openings to the profound and spiritual.  Nowadays I do this totally drug and booze free and it’s even better!  I celebrate the control freak in me, substance use has never done me any favours, I prefer to stay awake and be in control to get out of control!

images-7
Sunflowers can rave on light and so can weeeee!

There was one particular night delivered by psy-trance djay, James Munro at Tyson St. Studios, this particular event cracked me open – a bit like Pandora’s box. He’s one of those ones that wears his heart on his face and I’m sure on his sleeve as well! He definitely does what he loves to do! I remember experiencing the whole room burning in bright white light and feeling what felt like a stack of emotions from life to that point, expressing themselves uncontrollably.  It was insightful, stunning and slightly scary at that young age. I thank James for his soulful accessibility in a music scene that seems to often spawn big Egos.  I take his work as inspiration, I would very much like to share music that I love, deliver it so you can receive it and in you receiving it, we create tribe, connection and more positive life-force.  I dedicate this post to those with an inclination to no longer play it small,  opening our sails to new adventures where we can shine. We are amazing and life is short.  Be it and Do it.

quote-about-dont-live-your-life-impressing-others

Before I sign off on this one there are a few short things I want to share.  A poem (below) by Pablo Naruda that I feel resonates with this post.  A shout out for Dancing Freedom classes in the UK – you’ll also find Sarah Bullock – http://www.dancingfreedom.com/sarah-bullock-london-uk over in the south east and Sophie Austin in Bruton.  I hold regular monthly Dancing Freedom sessions in the countryside near Bath and soon to be Family Yoga/Dance sessions in St. Werburghs Bristol – check out my webpage for more about it and updates: http://www.yogasophie.co.uk/dancing-freedom/ AND to yoga and all the people that have joined me in sessions, for helping me to find my voice and unique expression of creativity through teaching.

1433875048_the-light

You start dying slowly by Pablo Neruda

if you do not travel,
if you do not read,
If you do not listen to the sounds of life,
If you do not appreciate yourself.

You start dying slowly
When you kill your self-esteem;
When you do not let others help you.

You start dying slowly
If you become a slave of your habits,
Walking everyday on the same paths…
If you do not change your routine,
If you do not wear different colours
Or you do not speak to those you don’t know.

You start dying slowly
If you avoid to feel passion
And their turbulent emotions;
Those which make your eyes glisten
And your heart beat fast.

You start dying slowly
If you do not change your life when you are not satisfied with your job, or with your love,
If you do not risk what is safe for the uncertain,
If you do not go after a dream,
If you do not allow yourself,
At least once in your lifetime,
To run away from sensible advice…

(Pablo Neruda, Spanish poet won Nobel Prize for Literature in 1971)

pink-heart-outline-clipart-aTexGLAT4

 

 

 

Helpful tip below from a fellow Dancing Freedom facilitator in the States.

‘If you are reading this you are a dancer at heart. You live to dance. You can’t wait to get back to your home on the dance floor. Where the microcosmic world of sound in air, movement on wood, and pulse in the blood changes and expands you from within so that your spirit soars without limits into the universe. Perhaps you love it even more because, in the macrocosmic world, the big one of jobs, city life, bills, and deadlines, you might more often than not feel small, constrained, and far from the expansive, enlivened “YOU” that you experience on the dance floor. If only there were a way to feel like you do when you are dancing- in your “non-dance world.” Well, maybe there is…

Here are a few ideas to play with embody in your embodiment practice: Take a moment to relive in your mind how you feel on the dance floor. Embody that feeling. Notice if your breathing changes. How is the tension in your shoulders – do they feel more fluid? What is it like to make a little movement, “as if” you were dancing, but make it so small no one can see it? Try it in the midst of others and have it be your secret. Who is the “you” that comes out? Does this “you” feel like the person you are on the dance floor? If so, congratulations, you have made the dancer’s leap from the microcosmic world to the macrocosmic one. Whoever you are, dancing surreptitiously in the “default world,” as some people choose to call it, that “self” is certain to be much more embodied, probably more at ease and certainly more in the present moment than your “default self” …

That said, you will notice that your “dancer” self is apt to be your best state in which to: listen, smile, love, and feel alive and carry positive vibrations to all the cells of your being. So, having a regular dance practice, especially once you realize you do not have to stop dancing once you leave the dance floor, can be the very best way to be alive, well, and present here on earth.’

 

Leave a Reply

